What are some ways I can secure my Zoom Meetings?

Here are some scheduling options and in-meeting features you can use to secure your Zoom Meetings and limit unwanted disruptions. In order to limit exposure of your meeting information, never share Zoom meeting links over social media or any public discussions; only share directly with meeting attendees.

FSU instructors be sure to check out How to prevent your Zoom class session being hijacked in FSU Canvas!

 


Scheduling Options

 

  • Ensure Your Zoom App is Up to Date - To ensure that your Zoom desktop client or mobile application is running the latest meeting and security features, you should periodically check to make sure it is up to date. If you are using a mobile app, check your app store for updates. To update the Zoom desktop client:
    1. Click your profile picture
    2. Click Check for Updates

 

  • Generate Meeting ID Automatically - Select Generate Automatically when scheduling a Zoom Meeting to create a unique meeting ID which will expire 30 days after the meeting has occurred.

 

  • Require Registration - Select this option while scheduling to require participants to register their name, email address and other information (or answer custom questions you create) before they'll be able to join. Meetings that require registration must be created from the Zoom web portal (see the steps below), cannot be created in the Zoom desktop or mobile apps, and cannot be scheduled with your Personal Meeting ID (PMI). To learn more about requiring attendees to register and provide specific information (such as FSUID), go here

     

    1. Sign into fsu.zoom.us.
    2. Click Schedule a Meeting.
    3. Scroll down to the “Registration” section and check Required.

       
  • Require Meeting Password - Select this option while scheduling your meetings and create an alphanumeric password that your participants must enter before joining. The password is automatically included in your meeting invitation. To learn more about Zoom Meeting passwords, go here.

 

  • Turn Off Participant Video Upon Entry - While scheduling a Zoom Meeting, select Off for participants (in the Video section) to ensure that their video will be disable when joining your meeting.

     

 

  • Mute Participants Upon Entry - While scheduling a Zoom Meeting, check Mute participants on entry (under Advanced Options) to mute all meeting attendees as they join your meeting.

     

 

  • Disable Join Before Host - This option allows participants to join your meeting before the host does. To allow you greater control over your meeting and when others can join it, we recommend that you do not select this option when scheduling your Zoom meeting. To learn more about the Join Before Host feature, go here.

     

 

  • Enable Waiting Room - Selecting the Enable waiting room option allows you to control when a participant joins the meeting. This feature can help you, and alternate hosts you designate, ensure that only appropriate participants are able to join your meeting. To learn more about the Waiting Room feature, go here.

     
  • Enable Only Authenticated Users Can Join - Selecting this option allows you to restrict access to only attendees who have Zoom accounts. Attendees must be either signed in to their Zoom accounts through their desktop or mobile applications or will be prompted to sign in before they can join your meeting. Participants can still join your meeting by phone by calling the number in your invitation and entering the Meeting ID.  

Return to top

 


In-Meeting Features

 

  • Designate a Co-host - During a large Zoom Meeting it is recommended that you designate someone as a co-host to help manage and moderate your meeting participants. To learn more about designating a co-host,  go here
    To make someone in your meeting a co-host:
    1. Select Manage Participants from your meeting controls.
    2. Hover your mouse over the participant's name and select More
    3. Click Make Co-Host

       
  • Lock the Meeting - Use this feature once all the appropriate participants have joined your meeting so that no other users will be able to join. There are two ways to lock your meeting:
    • Option 1 (requires Zoom client version 4.6.10 or newer) - Select Security from your meeting controls, then click to check Lock Meeting.
    • Option 2 - Select Manage Participants from your meeting controls. From the Participants window, select the More menu and then choose Lock Meeting.

 

  • Remove a Participant - There are two ways to remove a participant from your meeting:
    • Option 1 (requires Zoom client version 4.6.10 or newer) - Select Security from your meeting controls, then click Remove Participant...
      • In the Remove Participant window, select Remove next to the participant.
    • Option 2 - Select Manage Participants from your meeting controls, hover your mouse over the participant's name, select More and then choose Remove. If you've locked the meeting, the removed participant will not be able to re-join the meeting.

 

  • Place Participant On Hold - During a meeting hosts and co-hosts can place an attendee on hold, which stops audio and video transmission to that participant and prevents that person from seeing or hearing others in your meeting. To place an attendee on hold, select Manage Participants from your meeting controls, hover your mouse over the participant's name, select More and then choose Put on hold. To learn more about placing participants on hold during meetings, go here.
  • Stop a Participant's Video - During a Zoom Meeting the host or co-host(s) can stop or ask to start video for specific participants through the Manage Participants feature. This is done manually per participant. Zoom Meeting does not have the option to start or stop video for all participants at once during a meeting.
    1. Select Manage Participants
    2. Next to the participant, select More next to their name in the list.
    3. Then select Stop Video.

       

    4. To request that a participant enable their video, select More next to their name in the list and click Ask to Start Video.

       
  • Mute All - During a Zoom Meeting the host or co-host(s) can mute or unmute all participants. To learn more about managing the audio of meeting participants, go here

     

    1. Select Manage Participants
    2. At the bottom of the Participants panel, you select either Mute All or Unmute All.
    3. If you want to keep your participants muted, select More and then uncheck Allow Participants to Unmute Themselves from the drop-down.
    4. To mute or unmute specific participants during your meeting, select the Mute or Unmute button next to their name in the list.

 

  • Set Screen Sharing to Host Only - There are two ways to prevent participants from sharing their screens during your Zoom meeting (see the options below). To learn more about screen sharing, go here.
    • Option 1 (requires Zoom client version 4.6.10 or newer) - Select Security from your meeting controls, then click to uncheck Share Screen
    • Option 2 - In the host controls, click the arrow next to Share Screen and click Advanced Sharing Options.
      • In the Who can share? section choose Only Host.
      • Close the window.

 

  • Allow Participants to Chat with Host Only - There are two ways to limit who can chat in your Zoom meeting:
    • Option 1 (requires Zoom client version 4.6.10 or newer) - Select Security from your meeting controls, then click to uncheck Chat. However, this will disable chat for all meeting participants and the host ("Allow attendees to chat with: No one"). To set chat to "Host only", see Option 2 below.
    • Option 2 - Select this option so that only the host can send messages to everyone, while participants can still send private messages to the host. During a meeting select Chat from the host controls.
      • Then select the More menu from your Zoom Group Chat and check Host only

         
    1. Disable Participant Annotations During Screen Share- To disable participant annotations while you are sharing a screen:
      1. Go to More in your Screen Share controls. 

         
      2. From the More menu, select Disable participants annotation.

    Return to top


    Check out the Zoom Help Center and resources below for user guides, live training and additional troubleshooting assistance.